top of page

Jager Burton Wins Paul Hornung Award

The Paul Hornung Award is awarded annually to the states best player by the Louisville Quarterback Club, and usually to a 'skills position' such as a quarterback, wide receiver, running back, those kind of positions.

This year Kentucky signee Jager Burton becomes the first offensive lineman to ever win the award in its history. “It’s just crazy to think I am the first offensive lineman to win when you think about Jed, Walker and Landon and how they have done such great things in college and even the NFL,” Burton told YourSportsEdge. “It’s just weird to even think about.”

The Frederick Douglass standout finished the season as the 66th overall player in the country, and held offers from Alabama, Louisville, Clemson, Oregon, Tennessee, Oklahoma, and many of other top tier programs.

“There were so many other great players spread out in the state this year,” Burton said. “That just makes this more special. I am just really grateful to get this award. It’s one I really wanted because I know what a great job the Louisville Quarterback Club does evaluating people to pick the winner. This was my No. 1 goal I have been chasing. It means so much to have people who really know football pick you for an award like this.”

Burtons Head Coach at Frederick Douglass, Nathan McPeek, went to twitter to congratulate his player:

Kentucky quarterback and future teammate of Jager's, Beau Allen, won the award in 2019 after an impressive career at Lexington Catholic.

Mark Stoops says Jager Burton (and teammate Dekel Crowdus) are "difference makers" in this years recruiting class.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page