top of page

Oscar Tshiebwe Named NABC Player of the Year

Oscar continues to reap the benefits from his season-long of greatness we got to watch night in and night out. This morning, he was named the NABC Player of the Year, awarded by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

He becomes the first Kentucky player, including the first player from the Southeastern Conference to win this award. Also joined with this award, he was named the Pete Newell Big Man of the Year.

“First of all, I want to thank God for everything that he has done for me and my family,” Tshiebwe said. “I want to also thank my coaches, the UK staff and most importantly my teammates for helping me to get to where I am today. I also want to thank the Big Blue Nation for your support. I’m very grateful for everything. God bless.”

Oscar joins Anthony Davis (Kentucky) and Marcus Camby (UMass) as the only John Calipari coached players to earn the honors

Piling up in his trophy case, Big O now has yet another POTY award. They'll continue to keep coming in as the college basketball season begins to wrap up.

Cats Coverage's postseason coverage is brought to you by Mad Mushroom, the home of the original cheesestix. You can use our promo code 'CAT5' to receive $5 off a purchase of $20 or more at select locations in Lexington and Richmond, Kentucky, including 2 more locations in Indiana.



bottom of page